Women in Science Day 2024 @ FGGA

09.02.2024

Science is fascinating, impactful, multifaceted - and female, too! To mark the International Day of Women and Girls in Science on Feb 11 , we have compiled photos of female scientists at the Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy - from early career scientists to Professors - to visualise the diversity, enthusiasm and commitment of women in science.


To mark February 11, the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, some of the numerous skilled, committed and inspiring women working as scientists at the Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy present themselves in a multifaceted photo collage with one message for all interested young women and girls, the scientists of the future: Join the "Team Science"!

Join the "Team Science"

Women in Science Day @ UNIVIE

Besides our Faculty, the Faculties of Chemistry, Computer Science, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physics, as well as the Centre for Microbiology and Environmental Systems Science at the University of Vienna, the Max Perutz Labs and the Research Network Data Science @ Uni Vienna are participating in the Women in Science campaign; additionally an overview on the intranet (u:wiki, UNIVIE-internal, login required) is organized. And of course many international institutions are presenting campaigns for the Women in Science Day.

Science is fascinating, impactful, multifaceted - and female, too! A colourful and diverse photo collage of female scientists from our Faculty with a message to the female scientists of the future: Join the "Team Science"!


Chi Zhang, Michaela Trippl, Núria Meret Roig Fotos: © Chi Zhang, Thilo Schoch, Nuria Miret Roig, Mehwish Bibi





Coline GArcia, Laurane Fréour, Tadeja Veršič, Susanne Gier. Fotos: Marie Garcia, Laurane Fréour, Tadeja Versic, Susanne Gier.

Shirin Fassihi, Marion Borderon, Nicole Pawellek, Petra Heinz. Fotos: © Afshin Shirbache, Mark Andrew, Franz Pawellek, Matthias Nagy.



Daria Tatsiim Ourania Kounadi, Silvia Bucci, Tamara Đorđević. Fotos: © Daria Tatsii, Ourania Kounadi, Silvia Bucci, Tamara Đorđević




  • Angelina Ivkic, MSc, working group of Martin Zuschin at the Department of Palaeontology and specialized on corals. 2024, she is developing a game on how to save the corals together with school classes within a Science Communication Project. Photo: © Lara Thomasberger
  • Dr. Anja Feldmeier-Krause, Institut für Astrophysik, member of the group “Dynamics of Stellar Systems”, within an ESPRIT FWF Grants analyses stars in the inner Milky Way. Photo: © Claudius Krause
  • Dr. Iris Breda is Postdoc at the Department of Astrophysics. She received an Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship for her project "GALYKOS – Galactic ArchaeoLoGy based on K-band and Optical Spectroscopy". More on her homepage. Photo: © Iris Breda 
  • Isabella Leonhard, BSc MSc is doctoral student in the group of Martin Zuschin and works in the Conservation palaeobiology and historical ecology Research Group at the Department of Palaeontology. See her profile on X/Twitter and her homepage. Photo: © Isabella Leonhard

 

 



    • Tina Palme, B.Sc. MSc, is praedoc in the group Palaeecolgy by Petra Heinz. See also her profile on X/Twitter. Foto: © Tina Palme
    • Federica Mauro, MSc, is PhD student in Bodo Ziegler's group at the Department of Astrophysics, studying the co-evolution of disk and bulge components in spiral galaxies. © Photo: Federica Mauro

      Women in STEM

      Especially in the so-called STEM subjects - science, technology, engineering and mathematics - there are still fewer women than men working as scientist. In addition, science still loses many women along the career pipeline; therefore, in particular the proportion of women among professors is still low.

      This leads to two fields of action: On the one hand, it is important to make science and the career path more inclusive - but on the other hand, it is also important to encourage more women and girls to take up science and, in particular, STEM subjects. In this sense, on the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the call is also directed to all interested young women and girls: Join the "Team Science", for instance at our "Faculty of Exploration"!



      Studies and research at the "Faculty for Exploration"

      The Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy is one of the most diverse faculties at the University of Vienna, covering not only all aspects of space and geosciences but also all aspects of interactions between our Earth’s environment and humans. The Faculty supports more than 4,750 students. If you are interested in our research areas and want to benefit from our wide range of degree programmes, you should definitely join us.

Frauen in der Wissenschaft 2024 @ FGGA

09.02.2024

Die Wissenschaft ist spannend, wirksam, vielseitig - und weiblich! Anlässlich des Internationalen Tages der Frauen und Mädchen in der Wissenschaft sowie des Internationalen Frauentages haben wir Fotos von Wissenschafterinnen aus der Fakultät für Geowissenschaften, Geographie und Astronomie zusammengestellt - von der Nachwuchswissenschafterin bis zur Professorin - , um so die Begeisterung und das Engagement von Frauen in der Wissenschaft sichtbar zu machen.

Anlässlich des 11. Februar, des Internationalen Tages der Frauen und Mädchen in der Wissenschaft,  treten wieder zahlreiche der kompetenten, engagierten und begeisterten Wissenschafterinnen an der Fakultät für Geowissenschaften, Geographie und Astronomie vor den Vorhang. Die Botschaft an alle interessierten Frauen und Mädchen: Willkommen im Team Wissenschaft!

Join the "Team Science"!

Women in Science Day @ UNIVIE

An der Kampagne für den "Women in Science Day" beteiligten sich neben unserer Fakultät heuer die Fakultäten für Chemie, Informatik, Lebenswissenschaften, Mathematik und Physik, das Zentrum für Mikrobiologie und Umweltsystemwissenschaft der Universität Wien, die Max Perutz Labs sowie der Forschungsverbund Data Science @ Uni Vienna; zudem wurde ein Intranet-Schwerpunkt (UNIVIE-intern, Login erforderlich) organisiert. Auch viele internationale Institutionen präsentieren Kampagnen zum International Day of Women and Girls in Science".


Wissenschaft ist spannend, wirksam, vielseitig - und weiblich! Eine vielfältige Fotocollage von Wissenschafterinnen unserer Fakultät mit einer Botschaft an die Wissenschafterinnen der Zukunft: Join the "Team Science"!










  • Angelina Ivkic, MSc, Arbeitsgruppe Martin Zuschin am Institut für Paläontologie und spezialisiert auf Korallen. Sie ist derzeit in einem Wissenschaftskommunikationsprojekt tätig und entwickelt gemeinsam mit Schüler*innen ein Detektivspiel "Rettet die Korellen". Foto: © Lara Thomasberger
  • Dr. Anja Feldmeier-Krause, Institut für Astrophysik, Mitglied der Gruppe “Dynamics of Stellar Systems”, erforscht im Rahmen eines ESPRIT FWF Grants die Sterne im Inneren der Milchstraße. Foto: © Claudius Krause
  • Dr. Iris Breda ist Postdoc am Institut für Astrophysik. Sie erhielt ein Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship für ihr Projekt "GALYKOS – Galactic ArchaeoLoGy based on K-band and Optical Spectroscopy". Mehr auf ihrer Homepage. Foto: © Iris Breda 
  • Isabella Leonhard, BSc MSc ist Doktorandin bei Martin Zuschin und in der Conservation palaeobiology and historical ecology Research Group am Institut für Paläontologie tätig. Siehe ihr Profil auf X/Twitter bzw. ihre Homepage. © Isabella Leonhard


  • Tina Palme, B.Sc. MSc, ist Praedoc in der Arbeitsgruppe Paläoökologie von Petra Heinz. Siehe ihr Profil auf X/Twitter. Foto: © Tina Palme
  • Federica Mauro, MSc, ist Doktoratsstudierende in Bodo Zieglers Arbeitsgruppe am Institut für Astrophysik. Sie erforscht die Ko-Evolution von Scheiben und Ausbuchtungen in Spiralgalaxien. © Foto: Federica Mauro

Frauen in den MINT-Fächern

Gerade in den so genannten MINT-Fächern - Mathematik, Informatik, den Naturwissenschaften sowie den Technischen Fächern - arbeiten nach wie vor weniger Frauen als Männer in der Wissenschaft. Zudem kommen der Wissenschaft auch entlang der Karriereleiter nach wie vor viele Frauen abhanden; insbesondere bei den Professor*innen ist der Frauenanteil daher nach wie vor niedrig.

Daraus ergeben sich zwei Handlungsfelder: Einerseits gilt es, die Wissenschaft und die Karriereleiter inklusiver zu gestalten - andererseits aber auch, mehr Frauen und Mädchen für die Wissenschaft und insbesondere für MINT-Fächer zu begeistern. In diesem Sinne richtet sich am Internationalen Frauentag sowie am Internationalen Tag der Frauen und Mädchen in der Wissenschaft auch der Aufruf an alle interessierten junge Frauen und Mädchen: Join the "Team Science" an unserer Fakultät, der "Faculty for Exploration"!



Studieren, arbeiten, forschen an der "Faculty for Exploration"

Vom Weltraum über alle Aspekte der Geowissenschaften bis hin zu den Wechselwirkungen zwischen dem System Erde und den Menschen: Die Fakultät für Geowissenschaften, Geographie und Astronomie, an der mehr als 4.750 Studierende betreut werden, ist mit ihren verschiedenen Disziplinen eine der facettenreichsten Fakultäten an der Universität Wien. Sie haben Interesse an unseren Forschungsgebieten und möchten von unserem breiten Spektrum an Studienprogrammen profitieren? Herzlich willkommen an der "Faculty for Exploration"!


Foto: CC, CINCINNATI on Pixabay

Positive Trends, aber auch viel Handlungsbedarf für unsere Fakultät im Bereich Gender und Diversität orten Waltraud Schlögl (Abteilung Gleichstellung und Diversität) sowie die Mitglieder des Arbeitskreises für Gleichbehandlungsfragen, Stefan Meingast und Heidrun Edlinger. Ansetzen müsse man an vielen Ecken – vom Gender-Bias bei der Studienwahl über die Beurteilungskriterien bis hin zur „Wissenschaftskultur“. Mehr