The best "Snapshots of Exploration": Congratulations!


Place 1 to 3 - Congratulations to Lukas Ackermann, Jonathan Schmidt and Mohammad Goudarzi!

The first place in the "Snapshots of Exploration" photo competition of the Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy goes to Lukas Ackermann for his picture "Die unaussprechbare Schlucht"; second to Jonathan Schmidt for "Spektakel der Elemente" and third to Mohammad Goudarzi for "Normal Fault"; as a Special award also to Manuel Staggl for "Im Innersten doch ganz bunt". The Special Award in the Category Artificial Intelligence goes to Mauritius Klemt for "Sedimentreise". In the categories 4 to 10 and 11 to 20, the jury did not rank the winners - the best "snapshots" were too close together. We congratulate and thank all participants for their outstanding submissions!

Also in the third photo competition of the Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy for students more than 110 photos were submitted - and again the task of the jury was anything but easy with so many outstanding photos.

Nevertheless, the decision on the first places was clear: First place goes to Lukas Ackermann for the picture "Die unaussprechbare Schlucht" - the Geography Master student can thus look forward to 300 euros in prize money. Second place and 200 euros go to Jonathan Schmidt (bachelor's student in geography) for his picture "Spektakel der Elemente".  The third place, and thus 100 euros, goes to the Earth Sciences doctoral student Mohammad Goudarzi for "Normal Fault". Congratulations!

In addition, the jury decided to give a Special Award, or second third place, as the scores were extremely close - to the doctoral student Manuel Staggl for "Im Innersten doch ganz bunt". The Special Award in the "Artificial Intelligence" category went to Mauritius Klemt for the image "Sediment Journey" created with Adobe Flirefly Model-1. This Special Award is also endowed with 100 euros. Our warmest congratulations!

And the winners are ...

4th to 10th place

In the 4th to 10th place  category, the photos were again so close together that the jury - which, in addition to photographer Joseph Krpelan, Vice Dean Franz Kerschbaum and AI expert Krzysztof Janowicz , included all of the faculty's student representatives as well as a representative of VISESS - decided not to rank the photos within this category. The 4th to 10th prizes thus go ex aequo to the following students:

  • Jakob Unterberger (Masterstudium Meteorologie) for "Föhn in Patagonien"
  • Anna Magdalena Meyer (Bachelorstudium Geographie) for "Aralsee - was davon übrig ist"
  • Serhii Viatkin (Masterstudium Geographie) for "Fading Twin"
  • Matthias Meschik (Masterstudium Environmental Sciences) for "Mumbai im Sommerdunst"
  • Dorian Scheifinger (Bachelorstudium Geographie) for "Schlafende Riesen unter der Mittagssonne"
  • Julian Leimhofer (Masterstudium Erdwissenschaften) for "Stromboli"
  • Lina Rummler (Masterstudium Erdwissenschaften) for"Ausgrabung der Hirschgrubenhöhle"


We congratulate warmly and are pleased to present the "Snapshots" of this category also in a mobile exhibition at the three locations of the faculty. The award winners* will be honored on June 13, 2024 at the event "Talks & BBQ - Meet the Faculty for Exploration" and the photo exhibition will be opened at the Observatory.

Place 4 to 10 - Congratulations!

Place 11 to 20

The photos of the category 11th to 20th place also show a remarkable overview of the topics of the "Faculty for Exploration": From "Red Dot on Blue" to "Atoll's Tale", "A crack in vault of the sky" and "Curious Minds - here are the impressive photos of this category also in random order.

Snapshots of Exploration 2024 - Places 11 - 20


Also among the other photos were many outstanding pictures and exemplary "snapshots" by students of the "Faculty of Exploration" - at this point, we would like to thank you again for your participation!

We are looking forward to future photo competitions and many more "Snapshots of Exploration"!

More information about the "Snapshots of Exploration" competition of the Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy; among others about the prizes as well as the composition of the jury. More